Camogie Junior Shield County Final Ballygarvan2-05 Inniscarra 0-03

November 8, 2018

Camogie Junior Shield County Final Ballygarvan2-05 Inniscarra 0-03

Sunday 15th November Venue: Cloughduv GAA Pitch

Ballygarvan 2-5
Inniscarra 0-3
Despite the terrible weather over the past few weeks, Cloughduv GAA pitch provided as near to perfect conditions for the final of the Camogie Junior Shield competition when the Ballygarvan girls received their just rewards for ten months of hard training.
Ballygarvan put the Inniscarra girls under a lot of pressure in the first ten minutes. However, the Inniscarra defence was difficult to penetrate and this period yielded only 2 points from Ballygarvan forwards Rosannne Byrne and Sara Quilligan.  The next 10 minutes had both sides missing chances, with just one point registering on the score board for Inniscarra. The end of the first half saw Michelle Dunne adding a third point for Ballygarvan and Bernadette Keohane narrowly missing a goal. Then, as Ballygarvan kept applying the pressure on a tiring Inniscarra side, Aisling Byrne ran on to a well-passed ball from the industrious Kate O’Sullivan to add a fourth point for the eventual winners. Michelle Dunne got the final score of the this half when she doubled on a ball from Sara Quilligan to find the back of the net.
First half score: Ballyg 1-4, Innis 0-1
The Ballygarvan girls began the second half strongly. The forwards put a lot of pressure on Inniscarra which eventually paid off when Sara Quilligan pointed from a solo run from mid field. Inniscarra responded with their second point from a well taken free and another from a 45 which was deflected by the Ballygarvan goal keeper Katie O’ Donovan who kept a clean sheet throughout the match.  Inniscarra never gave up, but because of the very hard work by an excellent Ballygarvan defence led by team captain Laura O’ Callaghan, and mid-field players Maeve Moynihan and Kate O’Sullivan, their shots were forced wide of the posts.
 Aine Walsh was unlucky not to find the net in the final quarter of the game, but Michelle Dunne made no mistake when she rattled the net for the second time 10 minutes before the final whistle. This was to be the final score in the game.
Team captain, Laura O Callaghan accepted the trophy from Mary Bugler on behalf of the team and trainers John Dunne and Ollie Hallahan.
Ballygarvan Junior panel: Katie O’ Donovan, Davinia O’Mahony, Barbara Brown, Roisin O’ Shea, Anne Keohane, Laura O’ Callaghan (C), Denise Crowly, Maeve Moynihan, Kate O’ Sullivan, Sara Quilligan (0-2), Aisling Byrne (0-1), Marion Keohane , Rosanne Byrne (0-1),  Bernadeth Keohane, Michelle Dunne (2-1).
Substitutes: Aine Walsh for Marion Keohane (47 min),  Marion Keohane for Sara Quillligan (52 min), Roisin O’ Halloran for Michelle Dunne (55 min), Katriona Keohane.

Request a Demo

Let us show you how it works
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.